Nicolo Zaniolo with controversial penalty claim against Inter Milan in Serie A match!
Nicolo Zaniolo had a controversial penalty claim, as Inter took the lead.
It’s 1-0 for Inter Milan, who scored through Keita Balde.
Hardly a deserved lead, but it’s still an important goal.
Just before Inter scored, Roma had one controversial penalty appeal. Nicolo Zaniolo had a controversial penalty claim.
Frankly, Zaniolo was brought down in the penalty box and Roma should get a penalty, but referee didn’t think so.
D'Ambrosio went for the ball, missed and caught Zaniolo. Clear penalty. There doesn't need to be a great amount of contact for a penalty to be called.— Stephen Hummell (@StephenHummell1) December 2, 2018
Now, Serie A has a thing called VAR, which can look up situations like this, but referee didn’t even bother using it.
A very controversial situation, as VAR exist precisely because of situations like this.
Roma was obviously hard done by this decision, while Inter has an important lead going into the second half.